The Board of Education of the Wilkes-Barre Area School District held a Reorganization Meeting on Monday, December 5, 2016. President Joseph A. Caffrey called the meeting to order at 5:10 P.M., and announced that the Board is meeting this day for the purpose of reorganization under appropriate sections of Article IV of the School Laws of Pennsylvania, as amended.

Superintendent Brian Costello led the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Board Secretary Thomas Telesz called the roll:

6 MEMBERS PRESENT: Evans, Geiger, Katsock, Susek, Thomas, Caffrey

1 MEMBER PARTICIPATES VIA CONFERENCE CALL: Quinn

2 MEMBERS ABSENT: Galella, Walker

President Caffrey opened nominations for a Temporary President.

Mr. Caffrey moved, to nominate **Dr. James F. Susek** as Temporary President. There were no further nominations.

Miss Katsock motioned, to close nominations for Temporary President. The vote was as follows:

7 Ayes: Evans, Geiger, Katsock, Quinn, Susek, Thomas, Caffrey

The vote for Temporary President was as follows:

DR. JAMES F. SUSEK: Evans, Geiger, Katsock, Quinn, Susek, Thomas, Caffrey

Temporary President Susek opened nominations for President for the ensuing year.

Mr. Caffrey moved, to nominate Denise Thomas for President.

There were no further nominations.

Miss Katsock motioned, seconded by Mr. Geiger to close nominations for President

The vote was as follows:

7 Ayes: Evans, Geiger, Katsock, Quinn, Susek, Thomas, Caffrey

The vote for President for the ensuing year was as follows:

DENISE THOMAS: Evans, Geiger, Katsock, Quinn, Susek, Thomas, Caffrey

DENISE T. THOMAS - President for the ensuing year.

President Thomas took over the meeting and opened nominations for Vice President for the ensuing year.

Mr. Caffrey moved, to nominate Christine Katsock for Vice-President.

There were no further nominations.

Mr. Evans motioned, seconded by Mr. Caffrey to close the nominations for Vice President.

The vote was as follows:

7 Ayes: Caffrey, Evans, Geiger, Katsock, Quinn, Susek, Thomas

The vote for Vice President was as follows:

Christine Katsock: Caffrey, Evans, Geiger, Katsock, Quinn, Susek, Thomas

CHRISTINE A. KATSOCK - Vice President for the ensuing year.

Ms. Katsock moved, seconded by Mr. Caffrey, that all meetings be conducted in accordance with the rules set forth in the Reorganization Meeting of December 2, 1981, as amended December 2, 1999 and March 10, 2010 including Order of Business. The vote was as follows: 7 Ayes: Caffrey, Evans, Geiger, Katsock, Quinn, Susek, Thomas

Miss Katsock moved, seconded by Mr. Caffrey, to nominate **Ned Evans** to be the PSBA Legislative Chairperson who will serve as the District's contact for PSBA's governmental relations efforts as well as to participate in county-level Legislative Action meetings with members of the General Assembly. The vote was as follows:

7 Ayes: Caffrey, Evans, Geiger, Katsock, Quinn, Susek, Thomas

Miss Katsock moved, seconded by Dr. Susek, to nominate **Ned Evans** to be PSBA Representative to the Region 7 Cabinet, which interfaces with the role of the Luzerne County Legislative Coordinator. The vote was as follows:

7 Ayes: Caffrey, Evans, Geiger, Katsock, Quinn, Susek, Thomas

Mr. Caffrey presented Resolution No. 1

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Rev. Shawn Walker has served the Wilkes-Barre Area School District as a member of the Joint Operating Committee of the Wilkes-Barre Area Career and Technical Center; and

WHEREAS, his term of office expires in December, 2016; and

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Wilkes-Barre Area Board of School Directors appoints **Rev. Shawn Walker** to represent the Wilkes-Barre Area School District on the Joint Operating Committee of the Wilkes-Barre Area Career and Technical Center which term is to expire in December, 2019.

Wilkes-Barre, PA December 5, 2016

Mr. Caffrey moved, seconded by Miss Katsock, to adopt the Resolution.

The vote was as follows:

7 Ayes: Caffrey, Evans, Geiger, Katsock, Quinn, Susek, Thomas

Dr. Susek presented Resolution No. 2

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, **Jim Geiger** has served the Wilkes-Barre Area School District as a member of the Joint Operating Committee of the Wilkes-Barre Area Career and Technical Center; and

WHEREAS, his term of office expires in December, 2016; and

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Wilkes-Barre Area Board of School Directors appoints **Jim Geiger** to represent the Wilkes-Barre Area School District on the Joint Operating Committee of the Wilkes-Barre Area Career and Technical Center which term is to expire in December, 2019.

Wilkes-Barre, PA December 5, 2016

Dr. Susek moved, seconded by Miss Katsock, to adopt the Resolution.

The vote was as follows:

7 Ayes: Caffrey, Evans, Geiger, Katsock, Quinn, Susek, Thomas

Vice President Katsock presented Resolution No. 3

RESOLUTION

BE IT RESOLVED, that **Patricia Wallace** be appointed Assistant Secretary of the Board of Education to serve until the Reorganization Meeting of December, 2017, under the provisions of Section 434 of the Public School Code of 1949, as amended.

AND, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Assistant Secretary be bonded, and premium for such bond to be paid by the School District.

Wilkes-Barre, PA December 5, 2016

Miss Katsock moved, seconded by Mr. Evans, to adopt the Resolution.

The vote was as follows:

7 Ayes: Caffrey, Evans, Geiger, Katsock, Quinn, Susek, Thomas

Mr. Caffrey moved, seconded by Miss Katsock, that the Regular Meetings be held on the second Monday of each month at 6:00 P.M., in the Administration Building, and that the Committee Meetings be held on the second Monday of each month at 4:30 P.M., in the Administration Building. The vote was as follows:

7 Ayes: Caffrey, Evans, Geiger, Katsock, Quinn, Susek, Thomas

Miss Katsock moved, seconded by Mr. Evans, that the officers of the Board be authorized to draw orders for payrolls and for payment of bonds, interest, utilities and other pertinent bills as they come due. The vote was as follows:

7 Ayes: Caffrey, Evans, Geiger, Katsock, Quinn, Susek, Thomas

Vice President Katsock moved to adjourn the Reorganization Meeting.

President Thomas adjourned the Reorganization Meeting at 5:28 PM.